Tag Archives: astrology elements

Astrology 3: Elements & Qualities –

When you check your chart out, and as you’ll see for Sun signs above, you’ll notice that each sign belongs to an element: fire; earth; air; and water.
*Leo, Sagittarius and Aries are fire signs. Full of energy and enthusiasm. Eager to create and express their aims and goals.

*Libra, Gemini and Aquarius are air signs. Rational, thinking, looking for knowledge and communication.

*Virgo, Capricorn and Taurus are earth signs. These are earthy, as the name suggests, practical, steady and stable. They are practical and are involved with material matters.

*Cancer, Pisces and Scorpio are water signs. These are feeling and sensitive signs, emotional, and may involve psychic qualities.

If you’re interested in looking more closely at your chart, you can also find out whether you have a preponderance or lack of any of these signs in your chart, or whether you balance out across the elements.

Finally,  each Sun sign has a quality: cardinal, fixed or mutable.

Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn are cardinal signs.

Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius are fixed signs.

And Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces are mutable signs.
Cardinal signs like to be active, to charge, take action, show leadership.
Fixed signs like things to be stable, they can be stubborn but are persistent and get things done.
Mutable signs, as the name suggests, are adaptable to circumstances, are more people oriented and are able to initiate compromise.

So while a cardinal sign will take action and do the leadership thing, fixed signs will go on to do the hard yakka of what cardinal signs set in motion, while mutable signs will organize the cooperation of the work, the communication and the adaptation so that everyone can work together and see the project through to fruition without descending into fisticuffs.

%d bloggers like this: